Trusting my intuition

I had been having a bit of an exhausting week, trying to catch up on some sleep after working all weekend.

On Monday night, I was on the way to work listening to a podcast. The guest, Natalie MacNeil, said something that really struck a chord in me. The question was, “What’s the best piece of advice you have ever received”?

She laughed and said the best piece of advice she received was from herself. At 25, she promised to herself from that point on, she was always going to trust her intuition.

So here I am, sitting on the bus and I think to myself, hmm… that makes a lot of sense.

Now this was Monday, and the words didn’t quite sink in until Tuesday. It was just before bed time and I still felt so tense. I had been obsessively thinking about dieting and I felt like I was failing. I felt so disconnected from myself, from any progress I had made.

So I stepped out to the stairwell, and I called my Mom.

It was in that moment, that I promised myself to trust my intuition again. There’s a part of the Morning prayer I really like that has helped me to process my day when I start to feel overwhelmed:

“God direct my thinking today so that it be divorced of self pity, dishonesty, self-will, self-seeking and fear. God inspire my thinking, decisions and intuitions. Help me to relax and take it easy. Free me from doubt and indecision” (p. 86 BB)

I woke up today and I said that I was going to trust myself. And even though I didn’t have a perfect day, I feel more free from doubt and indecision than I did yesterday.

I’m just taking it one day at a time.

—-

Links: 

Let it Out with Katie Dalebout, Episode 27 – Q&A at 57:28

Natalie MacNeil – She Takes on the World 

Morning Prayer

God, direct my thinking today so that it be empty of self pity, dishonesty, self-will, self-seeking and fear. God, inspire my thinking, decisions and intuitions. Help me to relax and take it easy. Free me from doubt and indecision. Guide me through this day and show me my next step. God, show me what I need to do to take care of any problems. I ask all these things that I may be of maximum service to you and my fellow man. In the spirit of the Steps I pray. AMEN

Leave a Reply

