Sober in senior year

I am thankful to be starting my journey to sobriety in college. When I first started talking about becoming sober, my mom was worried about me being able to do it in college. A close friend suggested the same, that it would be easier to become sober after school ended, when I started working.

At first, I had those same fears, even though I knew I couldn’t just wait to graduate to quit drinking. Would I be able to resist alcohol and stay sober in a party environment? How would I fill my weekends? What would I say to my friends when they noticed I wasn’t drinking?

However, as I thought about the future, I realized I was lucky to start my journey to recovery in college. These are my reasons:

1.More flexibility with my time 

Compared to working 9-5 (which I did in the summer) I have a lot of flexibility with time in college. Not having to be somewhere Monday to Friday all day gives me the choice sleep in when I need to, exercise in the middle of the day to boost my mood, and take it easy.

 

2. Change is normal in college

Every year in college has been different. Whether it be new courses, friendships, apartments and lifestyle. I find school is a great place to focus on personal growth and discovering who you are.

I read that the Seven Tasks of College Student Development are managing emotions, becoming autonomous, establishing identity, freeing interpersonal relationships, clarifying purposes and developing wholeness.

I think these tasks really echo the process of recovery and mirror the 12 steps. Overall, I am happy to re-establish my identity as sober in college where I feel less bound to be the same person I always was.

3. People go out less in senior year

I mentioned in an earlier post that many of my friends started drinking less as they got older. Even though I neglected to follow suit, I have actually found it relatively easy to stay away from the bar scene.

I think this semester is a great opportunity to adjust to being sober so that when I do graduate, it’s less of a sudden change in lifestyle. I’m confident that I’ll be able to go to a work party and simply say that I don’t drink.

It will take time to slowly tell my current friends that I no longer drink, but I am patient, taking it one day at a time.

tumblr_nl4rje6OJN1qft49to1_500.gif

Links:

The Seven Tasks of Student Development

The 12 Steps of Alcoholics Anonymous

Leave a Reply

