Smoothie time!

In general, I tend to get a bit hungry between breakfast and lunch if I eat before 8am. My favorite snack to make at home is a fruit-based smoothie with some healthy fat.

Lately, my body has been waking me up super early so this smoothie has been a life-saver to keep me going until lunch!

Today I made my smoothie with:

  • 1/4 cup rolled oats
  • 2 tbsp of ground flaxseed
  • 1 cup frozen mango and strawberries
  • 2 pieces of sliced ginger, frozen
  • Handful of fresh kale
  • Squeeze of lemon juice
  • Almond milk to fill

Here’s why I love these ingredients

Rolled oats

I love oats as a source of whole grains and carbohydrates to keep me going. Oats also contain a special type of fibre called beta-glucan that can help to strengthen the immune system.

Flaxseed 

Flaxseeds are a great source of healthy omega-3 fatty acids for beautiful skin, fibre, magnesium and B1. I buy ground flaxseed (our bodies can’t naturally break down the whole seed) in small portions from the bulk section to keep in my cupboard.

Mango

Mangoes are a great source of  vitamin C and give that yummy tropical, sweet flavour.

Ginger

Ginger root contains compounds that are able to prevent or reduce inflammation in the body. It adds a spicy kick and I like to shop up small slices and keep them in the freezer.

Kale 

Kale is a nutrient powerhouse, loaded with vitamins A, C and K which help to support the immune system. I love kale as a source of leafy greens because I find it lasts longer than spinach and it stores well in the freezer.

To top it off, I like to add lemon juice (to balance out the ginger) and almond milk for extra flavour. Keep in mind, this smoothie is not the prettiest color once you blend it but I love the taste. Pour it into an opaque tumbler if you want to make it look cute!

Links:

5 Whole Grains to Keep Your Family Healthy

All About Flaxseeds, the Nutrient-Packed Seed You Should Be Eating

Go Tropical with Superfruits

The Health Benefits of Ginger 

9 Fall Produce Picks to Add to Your Plate

 

Leave a Reply

