Eating the rainbow

My relationship with food continues to be a work in progress, but I do my best to try and incorporate more healthy foods into my life.

Vegetables is one area where I focus on upping my intake. Recently, I read a post from Precision Nutrition about eating the rainbow to get the most out of eating vegetables for your health. The colour of fruits and vegetables is an indicator of the type of compounds that they contain.

Shifting my focus to try and eat enough of each colour every day has been a fun way to motivate myself to eat more veggies. These are some of the ways I sneak in extra servings:

  • Adding kale or spinach to my morning smoothie (I like to tear up my kale and freeze it, then pour cereal on top of my smoothie, SOO good!)
  • Frozen berries – perfect in yoghurt or smoothies
  • Chopped raw veggies – I like to keep them handy in the car as a snack for when I’m driving or to eat with my lunch at work
  • Iced green tea – I make the tea hot, then put it in the fridge to drink the next day with a squeeze of lemon juice and 2-3 drops of Stevia

Lately I’ve been eating a lot of frozen blueberries, kale, carrots, peppers, tomatoes and cucumbers.

My next step will be to try and add in some new fruits and veggies to my diet.

I’ve attached the PDF made by Precision Nutrition below, I customized it from the original to remove red wine as one of the items in the Purple category.

PN Veggie Colours – edited

Leave a Reply

