Smoothie bowls!

Recently, I have become OBSESSED with smoothie bowls. It all started when I had made my morning smoothie one day, and it was way too cold and thick. So I thought hmm.. what to do? I was starving..

So I just poured it into a bowl, put some cereal on top and I fell in love.

It’s a win-win because I feel more full than if I just ate a smoothie AND I get to eat cereal, one of my favourite foods!

Right now I’m just keeping it simple, see below:

Smoothie base: 1/2 to 1 cup frozen fruit + 1/2 cup plain or vanilla yogurt + 1 cup frozen kale + cinnamon + almond milk

On top: High-fibre cereal + Chia or flax seed sprinkled on top

My favourite fruit is any type of berry and blueberries in particular will give a nice, rich purple colour even if you add kale.

For the cereal, I like to change it up. I always check the label and try to pick one that has the least sugar and most fibre per serving. I also choose a yoghurt low in sugar as well.

I love the smoothie bowls because the sweetness of the fruit makes low-sugar cereal taste delicious. Right now, I’ve just been eating the grocery store brand cereal since it’s like $4 for this massive box.

Tips!

  • You can buy ground flax seed + chia in bulk
  • Use frozen fruit to keep the smoothie thick
  • Freezing your kale for smoothies if great way to reduce your food waste
  • Berries are a powerful source of antioxidants, high-fibre and low in sugar
  • I keep the cereal box beside me and sprinkle more on top as I eat 🙂

I was inspired from following my friend Abby on Snapchat! You can follow her on Instagram @theveganblondee 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Smoothie bowls!

Leave a Reply

